top of page
Search
  • cypstnnetwork

empathy and nursing

By Bethan Barrett


https://noteasybeingseizy.wordpress.com/2021/06/12/empathy-and-nursing/


I was approached by CYP Student Nurse Network in search for a small piece written from the perspective of a student nurse also battling their own health demons. The CYP Student Nurse Network are an amazing peer support network based on Twitter for student nurses and newly qualified nurses – go check them out on @CYPStNN


My name is Bethan and I am a student child and mental health nurse based in Leicester, UK. I am 21 years old and live with a variety of health conditions such as poorly controlled epilepsy, irritable bowel syndrome, sight and hearing impairments and generalised anxiety and panic disorder on top of others.

I use my health background to help empathise with others, such as supporting parents who are worried their child’s epilepsy will hold them back or mental health inpatients who are struggling with their anxiety. The age-old comment of “how do you know what it feels like?” doesn’t apply as much. But, there is always the right time and place for these things to be brought up. In my 3 years as a student nurse, I have willingly divulged information regarding my epilepsy a handful of times, to patients and parents that I know it will help and not cause extra stress that their nurse is also chronically ill and may not be able to help their child. In truth, I am perfectly safe to work and adore my career – I couldn’t think of doing anything else. Occasionally, patients/carers spot my medical ID bracelet hanging from my lanyard and curiosity takes over (although it makes a good rattling noise for distracting babies too).

My epilepsy affects my life the most out of all my conditions and sometimes impedes my mental health too. As student nurses and qualified nurses, it is usually true that we work a variety of shifts, especially if working in hospitals and acute settings. This includes the dreaded night shifts (dreaded for me… I don’t understand how anyone enjoys them but hats off to you if you work nights!). I enjoy the difference between days and nights but struggle hugely with the physical toll it takes on my body to switch sleeping patterns. Sleep (or lack of) is a huge trigger for deterioration in my physical and mental health and so no night shifts for me on medical grounds. I struggle with this as it gives me feelings of not being a “proper nurse”, but this simply isn’t true. However, what is true for me, may not be true for others, and so if you are preparing to work your first night shifts, don’t be afraid! Enjoy it, take plenty of snacks and make sure you get enough sleep during the day – I found that a good quality eye mask was a saving grace! If you find that you are also really struggling working night shifts and may also have underlying health conditions, reach out to your university or occupational health department for help and advice.

Often, people say “I don’t know how you do it” in terms of managing my health alongside my training, but resilience is a massive part of nursing for anyone and I think it is key to me. A strong belief of “I can do this”, faking it until you make it and a good dose of spite for all those that have said I wouldn’t make it is definitely the way forward. Laugh until you cry, cry some more then get up, put those ugly black nursing shoes on and do what you love to do. Change the world. Save some lives. Make a difference.

You can do it.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

mind, body and soul

By Bethan Barrett https://noteasybeingseizy.wordpress.com/2021/06/10/mind-body-and-soul/ I study a relatively new and fairly unique combination of two branches of nursing: children and mental health.

bottom of page